Beaver Island Community Center At the Heart of a Good Community
Home Info PABI What's Happening New News! WVBI BI Birding Trail Links Senior Center "Fun"raisers
The Preservation Association's governing Board represents a cross-section of year-round and seasonal Beaver Island residents. It currently includes the following people:

Jim Birdsall—Retired sales and marketing executive for Mr. Coffee, Montgomery Ward, Nelson Lawn Equipment, and President of Hagerty Industrial Products. Serves as Deputy Township Supervisor.

Carol Creasser—Full time Island resident since 2006. Retired homebuilder & general contractor. Married 42 yrs. with 5 children and 5 grandchildren—a good cook. PABI Vice Pres. for BICC Events & Activities

Jon Fogg—moved to the Island in 2001, been here every summer since 1956; retired Pres. of Fogg Filler Company, a gentleman farmer and vigorous outdoorsman; active in his church & community; PABI Treasurer.

Judy Gallagher—respected educator and professor/dean emeritus of MSU; owns and operates Montaage Galleries; served on the Island school board & as township trustee; loves to cook & entertain; PABI President.

Eric Hodgson—Owner of the landmark Shamrock Bar & Restaurant, Harbour Market, Beaver Island Lodge and the Beachcomber; enjoys boating, family and traveling. Chairs PABI Board of Directors.

Bill Kohl—Part-time Islander since 2002. Came here full time in 2008 after 16 years in banking as chief financial officer. Now offers local financial services to the Island, & enjoys riding horses, hunting & his dogs.

Joan LaFreniere—born and raised on Beaver Island; co-owner of Shanoule B&B; active in church and Holy Cross Altar Society; works at McDonough’s Market; tireless energy; knows everyone. 

Angela LeFevre-Welke—Island resident since 2002; co-owner of Island Airways; served on Health Center Board; Chair of the Island’s Waste Management Comm., enjoys travel, flying, pets, and pet rescue.

Ken McDonald—retired executive of Alticor Inc. and managing director of Quixtar; built Island home in 1992 and retired here in 2005. Active in local school and civic activities; avid outdoorsman.

Ken Taylor—moved to the Island fulltime after teaching math & science for 30 years; served on the BI Transportation Authority, and as Beachcomber owner 1979-93. PABI V.P. for Visitor & Information Services.

Bob Tidmore—retired P.E. Engineer who specialized in fire protection engineering. He is Chairman of BI’s Transportation Authority, Secretary of the Wildlife Club, and Commander of AMVETS Post 46. 

Don Tritsch—Retired engineering manager at Ford Motor Company, usher at Holy Cross Church; loves to snowmobile and build furniture; PABI Vice President for Building and Property.

Ed Troutman—Retired Senior Vice President of Foremost Insurance; bought home on Island in 1996 and moved to the Island in 2006. Active in church and community; enjoys family and traveling.

Sue Welke—wife and mother of seven children; active in church and civic affairs; loves to swim and garden; entertains graciously and often and helps with all PABI fund-raising events.


Other Noteworthy Contributors

Over the years, many have served on the Board and/or contributed their advice, skill, equipment, time and energy to the Preservation Association and the Community Center project. The Board and Island Community are grateful to these many contributors, and if anyone has been overlooked, please let us know so that we might correct the oversight.

Current year-round contributors: Jack Gallagher serves the organization as the Board's pro bono accountant and lawyer, working with PABI's president and treasurer and the Charlevoix County Community Foundation; Bob Welke serves PABI as the Board's pro bono civil engineer; Sally Fogg is a lead advisor to the Capital Campaign and Events Committees; Michelle LaFreniere is the Youth Consortium representative to the Board.

Founding Board Members—July, 1994—Listed on the Early Documents:
Frank Blatt, Jane Blatt, Ann Broder, Dennis Clarkson (President), Don Cole (Vice-President), Joanne Hooker, Philip Lange, Larry Malloy, Paul Niehaus, Pam O'Brien (Secretary-Treasurer), Joe Reed, Deb Roberts, Phyllis Townsend, and Karen Wojan

Past Board Members, who served one or more terms of office: Arlene Bailey, Bob Banville, Maggie Bennett (deceased), Maureen Bussell, Marilyn Clark, Phyllis Duda (deceased), John Fiegen (President for five years), Lisa Gillespie, Phyllis Fitzpatrick, Art Johnston, E. Z. Johnson, JoAnne Hooker (deceased), Jacque LaFreniere, Krys Lyle, Gena McCafferty, Skip McDonough, Bill Palladino, Ric Roane, Rick Speck, Sarah Thompson, Alden Walters, John White (deceased) and his son Kevin

Community Advisors who donated time and expertise to many committee and fund-raising efforts: John Bonadeo, Glen Borre, Darrell Butler, Nina & Ray Cole, Jan Gersen, Robert Gillespie, Rich Gillespie, Jeanne & Ralph Graham, Pinky Harmon, Eric & Dana Hodgson, Marie Johnson, Steve & Beth Lucas, Jackie Madigan & Dennis Madigan (deceased), Grace & Ray Matela, Bill McDonough, Tim McDonough, Rod Nackerman, Barry Pischner, Katherine Ricksgers, L.D. Ryan, Pat & John "Red" Rowley, Joyce & John Runberg Sr., Bill & Jerrie Turner, Elaine West, Nancy White, Carol & Satch Wierenga, Ed Wojan, and Jim Wojan.